How I passed the German A1 exam in 5 weeks

Learning German at Goethe Institut.

One of the things I had to cross off the checklist to be able to apply for a spouse visa was to pass the Start Deutsch 1 and get the A1 certificate.To do that, my husband and I looked at the options I had in learning German. The earlier that I get my certificate, the better, so the both of us can already be together this year.

At first, we thought of getting a language course visa, so we could be together while I learn German, but the immigration officer in Germany advised against that. They recommended that I learn German in Singapore, because the country had a lot of language schools and alternatives in doing so.

Weighing our choices, we decided it would be best for me to take the intensive course at Goethe Institute.

The intensive course was on weekdays, 9:30 am – 12:30 pm. After that, I had to rush off to work. I only got to do my assignments once I got home from the office. The pressure was on! Although it was tiring to go from one place to another every day, it was also enriching. Before the end of the 6-week course, I was glad that I learned enough German to pass the A1 exam.

Up next: 5 wallet-friendly ways to learn German

One thought on “How I passed the German A1 exam in 5 weeks

Leave a Reply

