My first winter

How is winter like? I tell you, it’s like Olaf is hugging you every second of the day!

tumblr_inline_mz9oq2Jylq1swo1s9.gif

Coming from a tropical country, I have never experienced this type of cold before. I have to wear lots of layers because the clothes I have are only suitable for summer. It also gets dark here at around 4 in the afternoon! From morning to night, I’d say, we only have about 4-5 hours of light, and that’s only when the sun decides to show up.

The first time I went outside and felt the winter wind, my brain started to slow down, and I couldn’t even talk because my face was freezing away. T and I had to walk a while so I could get used to the cold. After strolling for some time, my body got used to the chilly temperature, and it was really nice to feel the fresh air.

Aside from the more Christmas-y feeling you get because of the weather, some perks of experiencing the frosty season are: real Christmas trees, a new wardrobe, and Christmas markets! Totally ah-mazing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

3 thoughts on “My first winter

  1. I know what it feels like to come from a tropical country and adapt to a new culture. Talk about a world of glaring differences. I can attest that the winter cold is indescribable and quite harsh to the body. I am following – want some more read. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

      1. So thoughtful of you to visit my blog. Thank you. We both have the same sentiments with culture shock and adapting to a new country. It’s always good to connect with like minds and share experiences. So we are in this together. I am happy to meet you. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

