Mom.. don’t cry, okay?

She didn’t say anything.

It was the day before I left for Germany, and it was the only time we got to spend it together, just the two of us, in years. And throughout the day, both of us were trying to hold back the tears.. because we know we won’t be seeing each other for a while.


Soaking in the newness of being in a new country, and trying to experience all that it has to offer made me forget about homesickness, and missing my family. I tell myself I’m not homesick because I don’t cry everyday. I don’t constantly look at pictures of my family or bawl my eyes out when something makes me remember them.

But yesterday, I read Deb’s post. Suddenly, I have all these feelings burst out of me, and I finally, finally admitted.. that I miss home. I miss my mom, my dad and my siblings.. even my small, wooden desk and red and squeaky Ikea chair.

I will still smile and be happy, however, because I am with the love of my life, and I know that my being here is what my parents would want for me. They know that I’m in love and that I will have a brighter future here. Even though it hurts for their youngest to be so far from them, they cheer me on.

Thank you for everything, mom and dad. I love & miss you. ❤ See you soon!

 

 

13 thoughts on “Mom.. don’t cry, okay?

    1. So true! In our culture, families are closely knit, and stay in a community together, but yes, we all have wings and must learn to fly on our own. Thank you for the comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

