Big girls don’t cry

This line is so not true.

Big girls DO cry. And cry a lot we do.

The difference is, we know what to cry about, and when to stop. We know how to pick ourselves up after we’ve wiped the tears away.

pouting-child-girl

That’s how I knew I was all grown up. I realized I was responsible for my life, and that I had to make my own decisions and not have others make them for me. This was hard to grasp since I was the baby of the family.

I started working and studying, paying for my own through university, and it was tough. I cried through nights when my family was asleep, and I was dead tired but I had to submit my assignments the next day, and go to work early in the morning. I cried when things I were hoping to happen in both career and relationships didn’t, and I had to say goodbye to things that were familiar and move on.

As soon as I cry it all out, however, and feel that the heaviness has been somewhat lifted from my heart, then I gather the remaining courage I have and press on. I move forward, even with the dried tracks of tears on my cheeks, because tomorrow, I’ll be stronger and wiser. Yes, tomorrow will be better.

P.S. This post was inspired by an old writing prompt “All grown up“. How about you? When did you first feel that you’re a grown up?

 

13 thoughts on “Big girls don’t cry

  1. susurrus

    That’s a cute picture. And girls like me do cry – or at least tear up – even to a good episode of Doctor Who! I’ve heard it releases a natural painkiller but I don’t know if that’s true.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. theberlinbook Post author

      I just saw the photo on Google and knew it was perfect for this post. Yes, even because of a Doctor Who episode! I can relate to that, haha. Thanks for taking the time to read. 🙂 Your blog is SO lovely!!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Nícia

    I don’t feel like a grown-up yet. And I think I never will. I thought I would when my baby was born, but nope! I guess there’s no cure for me. 😀

    However I agree that crying makes us feel stronger, in the end. Sometimes I cry a lot, and feel miserable, but I always get up and try harder.

    Have the best day ever!

    Nícia ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. theberlinbook Post author

      Really? That’s good news then! 😀 I do think it’s important to have a childlike wonder still and not feel too grown-up. 🙂 Yes, it’s good to cry it out and come back stronger. 🙂 Have a great weekend ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Blogging 101: Zero to Hero III | RABBITS INTO HATS

Leave a comment