Surviving Winter Series: Skin

Contrary to what you may have read or what some people have told you, winter is not the best thing to happen to your skin. Sure, your pores seem to have shrunk, and it may not be producing as much oil, but as I’ve discovered, it’s not all wash-your-face-and-go this season. Your skin needs even more tender, loving care because of the lack of humidity, and the dry air from indoor heating.

Here are 7 tips on how to keep your skin soft, smooth, and well-hydrated during winter:

1. Drink lots of water. This really makes a huge difference to how your skin will look and feel! Drink 8-10 glasses of water throughout the day. Your throat will feel parched and dry most of the time so make sure to chug down liquids.

Drinking-water-1362499719_74.jpg

2. Moisturize everywhere. When I was still in Singapore, I probably just put lotion on once a week, but here in Berlin, I have to do it several times throughout the day! You’ll see the effect of the cold, dry air mostly on your face and hands because they’re the most exposed, but be diligent about putting lotion on the rest of your body to prevent dry patches on your skin from forming.

HOW-TO-USE-MOISTURIZER-Kirti-770x433

3. Exfoliate. Yup, those dead skin cells are still there even when they’re not that noticeable during dark winter days. Be sure to scrub them off so your skin will feel fresh and not look dull.

4. Use a good hand cream. Those wrinkles that you never knew were present in your hand before? Well, they were there all along, and they look worse during winter. I couldn’t stop staring at my hands when I first got here. They looked 40 years older! My non-stop handwashing didn’t help either. Do yourself a favor, and slab on that cream. Care for your hands, because they reveal your age! I don’t mind revealing mine when asked, but who wouldn’t want to be a little mysterious?

5. Change your routine. That summer skin care routine that worked so well for you, probably won’t work during winter. I tried sticking to the same routine and brands I had back in Singapore the first month I was here, and it was not working for me at all. My skin felt dry, and I was breaking out like crazy. It wasn’t until T suggested that I use his thick and creamy moisturizer did my skin felt somewhat normal.

6. Say no to chapped lips.ย Always have lip balm handy! You may not be used to applying it frequently at first, but you’ll get used to it, and it will keep your lips looking plump and kissable.ChapStick.jpg

7. Find the right products. 2 weeks in of my stay here, my skin got very itchy, and the lotion that I was using initially was just not cutting it, so I tried out the Dove (hurrah for brands that I recognize!) Body Milk, and it worked! Remeber, brands that you’re familiar with in your country may not be available in Germany. Don’t be afraid to test new products out and see which ones your skin loves.

DM-Markt_P2.jpg

I hope this was helpful for you! Let me know if you have other winter tips or products that you would like to share.

Bis spรคter! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Surviving Winter Series: Skin

  1. Very good tips! Maybe it will be good, if you live nearby DM Drogerie, to check Balea mit Urea series for very dry skin. They are very effective. I’ve written about them about a week ago.
    Waiting for the spring to come ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

