2016: The year of firsts

DAILY PROMPT: How is the year shaping up for you so far? Have your predictions come true, or did you have to face a curve ball or two?

Hmm.. well, 2016 is proving to be an interesting year. An acquaintance declared it, “The Year of Firsts”, and I think that name is so apt. I did uproot myself and move to a new country, after all.

As of this moment, I am still adapting to the many adjustments one has to make when undergoing a big shift, but at the same time, excited in the even better changes that are going to take place.

img_5887-1
The rare winter sun shining in Berlin.

I know it’s not all sunshine and rainbows.. winter drilled that into me. Sure, I could list the curve balls: the cat has not been feeling well, and had to be taken to the vet several times last week; I found out that my motion sickness has not faded after all, and is back with a vengeance; and I’ve been blubbering about and crying for no reason at all (hello, pms); and so on.

But the sun does shine, friends. Today may be all dark and gray, but tomorrow, the sun may gleam like it will never set at all. Yesterday, you may have kept on pressing the Z key when you wanted to press the Y key on that German keyboard, but today, you finally get the hang of it, and start spelling words correctly, not correctlz.

Whoa, it seems like i’m writing up a speech to rally the troops, haha. But really, i’m just writing about how I feel 45 days into the new year. Time to stop the rambling, and get on with day 46.

How are things going for you this 2016? 🙂

Up next: Survive Winter Series: Final Tips!

3 thoughts on “2016: The year of firsts

Leave a Reply

