10 Signs you’re becoming more German

Happy New Year, everyone! Glad to see you back here in 2017. ๐Ÿ™‚ I know I’ve been away for a while. I took a break to think about my 2017 goals and focus on my family. But not to worry, I do plan on posting more once a few things have been settled. On to the post!

Now that I’ve been here in Germany for more than a year, I’ve decided to come up with this list that shows you’re slowly but surely becoming more integrated into German society.

1. You check the weather report before heading out the door. Unlike in Asia where you just wear whatever’s in your closet and go, here in Germany, we listen to the weather report on the radioย  first or even get your own weather station and check the weather forecast and temperature for the day, so you’ll know what you have to wear or bring.

Image Credit: achimundsiggi Youtube

2. You eat more potatoes than rice. This is a sure sign that you’re adapting to the German way of life, because it’s definitely not a German lunch if there are no potatoes in it. Add some meat, vegetables and top it off with a sauce, and that’s the way to go.

Image Credit: The Pioneer Woman

3. Your love for bread has grown. There are, I don’t know, hundreds? Or maybe even thousands of types of bread in Berlin, and I eat ate one almost every day. They have different shapes, tastes and textures, and I’m sure you’ll find one you’re sure to fall in love with.

Image Credit: Cookdiary.net

4. You reply immediately in German without translating it in your head. I know, I know, when you’re beginning to learn German, this is inconceivable, but the more you talk to others in German, this will come easily. Before you know it, you’re having a full conversation in German without thinking too hard about which adjective endings ย to use or if you should use der, die or das.

5. Coffee is your life. Germans LOVE coffee, so much so, that they buy coffee makers and stock up on coffee powder and supplies. After a year here, I found myself craving a cup every morning, or even afternoons, especially when there’s cake around – now that’s something Germans like too, 3 o’clock coffee and cake.

Image Credit: reutersmedia.net

6. You don’t rush outside to see the snow. Yeah, instead of grabbing your coat and immediately pulling out your phone to snap photos, you start brewing tea and turning the heater up instead. A true sign of your German-ness: practicality. ๐Ÿ™‚

7. You have a higher tolerance for alcohol. Beer, vodka, and wine are ย unbelievably inexpensive and easy to buy here. With that I mean, there are ones even under two euros! So yeah, your tolerance for alcohol will be even higher because beer is everywhere.

Image Credit: n-tv.de

8. Milk, cheese and chocolates are everyday staples. You have at least one of these things everyday, or even all three! I didn’t eat a lot of cheese and chocolates in Asia. In fact, when I was a kid, I don’t think we even had fresh milk, haha. What was popular back them was powdered milk. I guess that’s why Germans are so much taller and bigger-boned than Asians.

Image credit: n-tv.de

9. Bureaucracy is now normal. Government procedures and two-week replies by post don’t bother you as much anymore. You’ve come to accept that they are a part of your life in Germany,ย  and you have a stack of stamps, in case you need to mail something official back.

10. You have a favorite German actor or actress. Yes, the seemingly impossible has happened. I’ve become impressed with a German actress even more than those in Asia or in Hollywood. In case you haven’t found one that you’re a fan of yet, you might substitute this last one with viewing the famous British show “Dinner for One” every New Year’s Eve or watching the much-loved crime series Tatort.

Image Credit: wz-online

 
P. S. And here’s a bonus. Ads like these don’t shock you as much anymore.ย 

img_8519

2 thoughts on “10 Signs you’re becoming more German

  1. Checking the weather million times before heading out-Guilty!
    Eating bread more than I eat rice !-Also guilty!
    Devouring potatoes – my new rice! ( so also Guilty!)
    I can’t live without coffee and love chocolates yum! ( another guilty pleasure!)
    When it snows, I kinda hate it because its gonna be cooollldddd!
    I am surviving in Germany with my German..maybe I can write a post in German in the coming years..:)

    Great post ..I guess I am integrating into German culture very well..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, glad to know you can relate to my post! ๐Ÿ˜€ Ah, I think we’ll get used to the snow and speaking German in time. ๐Ÿ™‚ It takes a lot of practice. >.< I'm glad you find yourself integrating very well! Hope to read a German post from you soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

