Art or not art?

img_9610

That is the question I had, my friends, as my class went to the Hamburger Bahnhof Museum here in Berlin. Initially, I thought it was located in Hamburg because of the name, but the teacher explained that it is actually near the Hauptbahnhof.

Anyway, it was a really huge museum and it’s the perfect place to hang around at besides a cafe when it’s raining. I don’t think children will appreciate it as much as adults will though. I so wanted to walk around the museum and see the other exhibits and works of art but we had a tour booked, so no going around the place until that was done. By the time it ended, I was really hungry so I just headed home.

One of the interesting pieces though was that from Andy Warhol. I think it was fun and colourful, and compared to the other ones that I seriously do not have an appreciation for. I’m sure if I was deeper in the art world, I could find them fascinating, possibly even debate what every brush stroke could mean, but given that I am not that type of artsy, I can’t. Honestly, I believe no one knows if something can be called art either, even when art critiques say so. Just take Van Gogh as an example. Who knows? Maybe even my meaningless doodles will be worth millions someday.

Leave a Reply

